Nowadays, more and more people are moving from the countryside to cities, which are becoming overcrowded. What are the reasons for this movement to cities and what are the effects?

Towns and cities have become overpopulated as a result of many people migrating from villages insearch of better living conditions and standards and better economic opportunities. However, this development has both negative and negative effects such as pressure on resources and increased economic development. People are moving from the countryside to access employment and educational prospects that are available in towns. Although, some people find good jobs in villages, others find it difficult to get on and move to cities were jobs are plenty. Also many students often choose to study in cities because there are a lot of universities and colleges to choose from. Moreover, others are attracted by better living conditions in cities were they have access to high quality medical services and clean water. Due to immigration in urban areas the population will increase rapidly resulting in a lot of pressure on healthcare facilities and public transport. Overpopulation will result in poor service delivery. For example, in hospitals patients will have to wait for longer periods to consult healthcare staff and shortage of buses to commute people travelling. On the other hand, as skilled workers migrate from villages it can increase the productivity levels in businessess business thereby boosting the economy. In conclusion, people move to towns and cities inorder to seek better opportunities and improve their overall lives because villages are less developed but however this can lead to overcrowding putting pressure on public resources while also increasing the gross domestic product of the nation.