Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choices of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that, we can learn about someone's characteristics and culture through their choices of clothing. I partially agree with this viewpoint, because someone's clothing might be a reflection of his culture, customs as well as character but this point is not appropriate always. Rather their behaviours and way of life also indicate their culture. People generally dress themselves according to their cultural norms and ideologies. More specifically, a person's dressing sense is a reflection of his own identity. Their clothes may reveal where they belong or how they would act. For example, South Asian women usually wear shari which is the predictor of their own culture and characteristics. In their culture women are considered as goddesses and they are treated with respect. Wearing shari establishes them as an epitome of worshipness and beauty. Therefore, through their choice of clothing, numerous cultural norms and characters of them can be identified. However, it is unacceptable to establish a proper understanding of someone's culture only through their clothing choice. Because, not everyone is following their traditional ways of clothing nowadays. Moreover, it is imperative that, culture and customs not only reflect through clothes but also through their way of life and behaviour. Hence, if we want to learn about one's culture, it is wise to follow how he acts or what his way of life is and that is the most effective and amazing way of learning about one's culture. For instance, in multicultural Australia, understanding people's lifestyles and behaviour helps us to know about several cultures and characters. To conclude, culture and character can be identified through clothing as well as people's way of living. Both are equally considerable and none of them should be underestimated.