Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Please discuss the two views and give your own opinion.

The importance of learning past influences debate for some populations. There are groups of person have agreed that learning the past plays a crucial role in society, and understanding what happened in the prior time will give comprehensive knowledge about the current era as well as predict the future. However, others might not think that way, they insist that past things are not relevant anymore to be apply in the later time. This essay will analyzing both of the point of view including the writer's opinion. First, learning past is believed to bring a guide to the present life. It gives insight into what things are supposed to or not supposed to do in order to avoid undesirable occasions based on what happened in the past. For example, by learning the past of Indonesian colonialism, we eventually know that " devide et empera emperor empire ", the tricks the Dutch used, can provoke a disunity that we should avoid. Therefore, a lot of population stick with the "always learn from the past" principle. On the other hand, not everything in the past can be applied to the current society. Cultural development as well as technology advancement are the contributing factors to the inrelevant past examples to be implemented. A lesson from hunting an animal in the past, for instance, will not be appropriate in recent years as it is such a prohibited thing to do. This explains why some groups not rely on studying past to live life. In conclusion, learning past gives various benefits such as how to avoid unwanted situations. However, not all points can be implemented in the current society. it is fine to choose whether population want to study it or not. Nevertheless, knowledge of the past will give some importance insight and would be better if population understand it.