In many cities around the world pollution levels have risen in recent years. Why are some cities becoming more polluted? What effects does this have? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In a big number of cities worlwide, the pollution levels are on the rise in recent years. This is mainly caused by the development of industrial sectors and the rising numbers of vehicles. This phenomenon leads to negative environmental effects and various deseases threatening living beings. The advancement of technology, especially of transportation and factories, are accountable for causing pollution. In fact, many firms produce most of pollutant in the city. For example, charcoal factory in Serang is believed to be the greatest source of the famous grey smoke in Jakarta's sky. This smoke is blown by the wind and travels to Jakarta, causing dark fog, which is deteriorated by the presence of numerous vehicles in the city. Other than causing air pollution, many factories also throw the used liquid to water drainages and even rivers like what we have seen in the rivers in Jakarta. As everything has a price, pollution is evident to cause illness for humans, animals, and plants. First, air pollution is a threat for breathing problems such as a cough, athma, and lung cancer. It can be seen how China requires its citizen to wear mask outside to prevent them from inhaling harmful air. Second, water pollution can possibly harm water creatures and plants. The polluted water in the city rivers most likely contains chemical stuff, and if it is absorbed by the soil, on which the plants grow, gives a greater likelihood for the plants to dry out. To sum up, pollution has been a long discourse that is longing to be resolved. I opine that the government should set some rules to combat this problem. Some of which are to limit the use transportation and making policies that manage the water disposal.