Many supermarkets are selling more and more imported foods instead of seling locally produced foods? What are the reasons for this? İs this positive or a negative development?

It can be observed that there are more supermarkets in the world, and they sell foreign products rahter than sell items that are produced locally. This trend is due to many supermarket beign willing to fulfill customer preferences, and I believe this trend has negative consequences as it would discourage local farmers and escalate health issues. The reason behind the trend of a surge in imported products is to satisfy their customer requirements. Primarily, consumers are willing to taste different kinds of foods that are not produced locally. Furthermore, people are inclined to taste new flavors due to advertisements on big screens and the internet.So they ask from shoppers about those new products, whether they are available or not. Therefore, supermarket owners place orders to fulfill customers' needs. For example, soft drinks and fast foods are the main trends which are beign asked about by people from supermarkets. This trend has had a negative consequences on farmers and peoples' overall health as well. Firstly, If supermarkets are inclined more into foreign imports, specially on foreign foods that could affect local foods market product to obsalete. Farmers are discouraged from cultivating local foods and supply would reduce dramatically on the market because those foods would not be able to compete with imported products. For instance, It can be seen that many local farmers gave up their farming as they did not recieve considerable attention for their products. Additionally, Importing products is detrimental to our health. In fact, many supermarkets sell soft drinks and fast foods that are ordered from different countries without considering their ingredients. People, specially youngsters, are inclined towards those products without determining their health impacts but only considering their exotic taste. Today, those fast foods and fruit drinks cause serious health problems among adolescents. For example, the majority of people suffer from many long -term diseases like diabetes, high blood pressure and chronic kidney diseases. In conclusion, the supermarket chain relies on more foreign products, such as soft drinks and junk foods, because of consumers' preferences. If their shelves are filled with imported foods, it will adversely affect on local farmers and people's health.