Some people think that individuals and companies, rather than the government, should pay for cleaning pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution has been a major contributor to the climate change. Some people think that organisations as well as people have contributed to this impurity. Thus, both parties should contribute to the cost of cleaning up instead of the authorities. I personally believe that it should be a collective effort by all of them. My opinion will be discussed in the following paragraphs with a suitable conclusion. To begin with, there are many reasons why companies and individuals should fork out money for cleaning pollution. Commercial businesses contribute to air pollution through operations and supply chains. For example, emissions from burning fuel used to heat buildings, besides that, harmful gases are being released into the environment during the distribution and delivery of goods. On the other hand, communities pollute the air, land and sea. To give a clear example, is by burning fossil fuels, overusing chemicals and pesticides and creating sewage run-off. Another example, researchers from agricultural university proves that some companies adopt eco-friendly methods to minimise expenses on carbon footprint. In my view, the government should also give money to facilitate a clean habitat. They collect taxes from us and should allocate a part of it for environmental protection so that we all can live in a clean and safe place. Just a small proportion of the amount from the billions of dollars of government budget set aside for this initiative would go a long way for us to breathe fresher Air quality. Additionally, authorities can ban certain harmful substances and prohibit permits to manufacture them. To conclude, I strongly believe that paying for cleaning pollution must be contributed by the government, public and companies collaboratively. It is a small price to pay for the damage caused to our surroundings.