In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, with the technological advancements in the agriculture sector, yield of food production can be maximized. Yet, famine issues are still a major problem in some parts of the world. This essay will try to identify the problems and also explain some solutions that can tackle the issues. There are many factors that contribute to the lack of food in some areas in the world even though agricultural technologies are well developed. First, the distribution of fertile land in every country is different. Some places in Africa do not have enough fertile soil that they can plant it to grow food. Second, the population of each country varies between each other. Some countries have a big population that they have to import their own food to fulfill the needs of their citizens. Indonesia, for example, has to import more than two millions rice each year to fulfill the demands of the people. Furthermore, the technology for agriculture is expensive. Many farmers cannot afford the technology because they only do small-scale farming. As a result, the technology is too expensive for them. Regarding possible solutions, there are several ways that can help tackle this issue. Developing low-cost technology for small-scale farming can really help the farmers. This can increase the yield of the agriculture product and help to reduce the food stock supply issue. In addition, the advancement of preservative technology helps to prolong the food lifetime and prevent it from becoming a waste. Next, the logistic issue should be addressed. Supply chain is the main factor that affects the delivery of the food product from farmers to the customers. By developing technology of low-cost logistic modes, it can boost product delivery and tackle hunger issues. In conclusion, development of agricultural technology does not necessarily reduce the famine issue due to several factors such as fertile land distribution, population, and technology cost. Meanwhile, this issue can be tackled by developing low-cost agriculture technology for small scale farming, food preservation and logistic modes.