Students should pay the full cost for their own study because university education benefits individuals rather than society. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE?

Some people think that university tuition should be paid by students since higher education brings advantages for individuals rather than society. Nevertheless, I believe that the government should help students cover tertiary education. Firstly, paying full tuition could reduce the opportunities for students from disadvantaged backgrounds to get higher education. Due to not being able to afford tuition, some students would choose to work after finishing high school. Without higher education, it's hard for them to get decent jobs. They may end up getting low-paid jobs or being unemployed, which is not good for the progress of society. Thus, free tertiary education would lift the financial burden from many students, empower them to fulfill their potential, and generate social mobility. Secondly, offering free education can benefit the country in the long term. If higher education was subsidized, more and more people would opt to study for university degrees. A well-educated workforce would no doubt boost the productivity of the nation, contribute more to tax revenue, and reduce the unemployment rate. Moreover, these skilled workers could come up with solutions to tackle social problems and bring about innovations in lots of aspects of life. Society would indeed become better with a large population of skilled workers. In conclusion, I am convinced that providing free education would be a smart step for the government to take because higher education is the key factor that drives the development of individuals and the nation.