Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year'; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed that some students take a gap year to travel from graduation from school or university, before a new important chapter in their life. However, others believe it is just a waste of time, so more effective would be not to miss 12 months and start studying or working straight away. From my point of view, the first option is a great opportunity to get to know yourself and understand what you really want in this life. First of all, such a decision has so many advantages for the personal and professional development of youth. They are open to new knowledge, people, career choices and so on. Moreover, visiting countries and getting acquainted with their cultures and traditions broaden our horizons pretty much better than just reading about them or watching films. It is the best time to ask yourself about your desires and preferences, what to do in the future and what path to choose. By the way, such trips always give positive emotions for many years ahead, so people go back being really motivated and become more hardworking. Secondly, speaking from another point of view, it can be extremely expensive especially for youth to have such a trip for some months. Not all parents can allow this for their children, who do not often have their own source of income as well. Moreover, today getting an education is a huge line in expenses for families, so many relatives spend money on a good university, not on travelling. Besides, in this starting period, a person can get a good boost in their professional or educational goals. Furthermore, those who continue doing their things without taking a gap year will be in a more privileged position than those who decide to stop their regular life for travelling. In conclusion, I would like to say that if students have such an opportunity to travel they surely should do this in order to get new experience, knowledge, acquaintances and just emotions and memories. If they do not have it, it leaves them to start doing their things and in the future to realize all their dreams.