Many young children are spending large amount of time in front of screens. What are the causes of this and what other problems does it lead to?

There are 3 main reasons why children in this generation tend to spend a large amount of time in front of gadgets. One, technology has advanced a lot over the past years, therefore it is without a doubt that technology has taken over our lives. We can't fully say that technology is not beneficial, as there are so many advancements in many sectors all because of technology and AI. Second, most parents tend to have the same bad habits - spending large amounts of time in front of screens - therefore children tend to follow them as parents are their biggest impact. Third, most of the learning done in school is uploaded through online platforms. I think this was first done, during the COVID-19 Pandemic, and ever since that event, everything has shifted online. Although technology and AI have a lot of benefits, there are also a lot of problems that may arise from it. Firstly, mental health problems has been rising ever since the Pandemic of COVID-19. Not only was it because of the increase time people stayed inside the house, but also because the amount of cyberbullying that increased through social media. With children scrolling through social media more these days, it's more likely for them to have mental health problems. Secondly, long-term problem includes sight problem. As we all know, looking at the screen for too long is not good for our eyes. This is also why children these days tend to use glasses more. Last but not least, there are many bad contents in the internet, such as violence and adult content. In most platforms, it is very easy to access them - Therefore it might be very dangerous for children, especially if their parents have not taught them regarding good content and bad content. In conclusion, advancement in technology has impacted the world - both, good and bad. However, we will not be able to stop the advancement of it in the future, therefore it is really important to be able to know which is beneficial and which is not. If everyone is able to do so, the world can be a happier place.