In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In modern age, average life expectancy is growing and ageing populations are a common problem for many developed countries in the world and a ticking problem that can cause inflation to the economy in the long term. On the surface, an ageing population would increase the pressure on the working age group. For example, the government budget to pay retired people, usually comes from taxes of the working age group, will increase while the working group are reduced in number, to combat this, tax increasing policy will be applied and would place a heavy burden on the working age group, which in the long term would cause major stress to the young generation. Although it is an urgent problem, the answer to this problem can already be seen from some countries like Australia, USA, and Japan. For instance, immigration policy is one of the solutions to this problem. By bringing a new work force at a younger age to their country, It would increase the number of taxes income to the government, plus they would also pay to attend schools and bring more value to the countries that help balancing out the margin or retired population. Turning to the next solution, the government can increase the age of retirement to lengthen the working period to help lower the number of people they need to support. However, this solution is temporary and they will still face the problem again if they could not find a more effective plan. In conclusion, there are many measures to resolve this problem but a long term plan should be figured out as soon as possible.