As a consequence of improved medical care, people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think its advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a heated debate over the topic of increasing life expectancy being the result of advanced healthcare. It is, thus, suggested that this general trend be considered rather negative. In the following paragraphs, I will try to delve into this notion and provide certain arguments why I would take issue with that it serves for the benefits of human-beings. There are some particular vantage points why the increased life-span should be taken for granted. Firstly, thanks to the sharp developments in the technological field, diverse types of medical equipment is being invented that is significantly contributing to the extension of a person’s life cycle. That said, former uncurable diseases, for example cancer, can be got over within a certain amount of time. Not only can the modern medical care work out the solutions to existing health issues, but it is also capable of diagnosing the potential threat and suggesting steps to be taken in order to prevent a virus from getting into the human body. These all definitely do mean that people nowadays, stand a chance of living more compared to past ancestors. I, however, conceive this recently-born tendency to be quite detrimental for the global society. It will surely breed a problem connected with the land available to settle for there are more than 8 billion people in the world. As a one body, the international community is now trying to deal with the scarcity of land and if the global population carries on escalating in number, there will highly likely be conflicts among nations. Furthermore, the elderly need firm relationships bound with their descendants so that they will be looked after by the younger generation. As a matter of fact that a human-being tends to gradually become difficult to get along with, expanded period of life, albeit, does not seem to work for both the elderly and youngsters as taking care of the elderly is not a typical thing and requires great attention meaning that the youth would not have enough focus on themselves. The elderly then, could end up being isolated and left over. To conclude, while increased life expectancy has some bright sides, I do reiterate that it is rather disadvantageous.