In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping malls or centres to do their shopping. Does this have a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, when shopping centres are in the stage of their rapid development, a lot of local shops have stopped their work. It is agreed, that this tendency has an adverse impact on small businesses and contributes to the prosperity of large malls. This essay, firstly, will discuss what impact this issue has on customers,followed by an analysis of the influence that this problem has on entrepreneurs. To begin with, a sharp fall in number of local stores contributes people to go to shopping centres to purchase some products or goods. However, it is a positive development only for those malls, not for buyers. Firstly, it is time-consuming, due to the crowd of customers, therefore it annoys people, instead of giving them pleasant feelings. Secondly, when someone decides to spend time in traffic jams to go there, it is clear that it is better to make a list of goods and buy everything in one go. It usually means that a higher amount of money will be spent,than it was expected, moreover a lot of stuff can be useless. Consequently, it can be a waste of funds and goods,as they may remain unused. On the other hand, local stores provide people with the ability to meet their minimum needs. For example, bakeries have only fresh and delicious bread, therefore, when a person has to buy only this, they can avoid the need to go to the large mall. Furthermore, it does not take much time, so people are ready to pay even if the cost of the product is higher than in a shopping centre. In addition, small stores must develop, because people want to be able to work honestly and build their own business. Also, it increases the country's economy, as these people pay taxes. Besides, what is important, is the amount of work places growth, as a consequence of the existing small shops. To conclude, this essay agrees that dramatic development of large malls has a strong impact on small businesses, however, this influence is rather adverse than positive.