Full-time university students need to spend most of their time studying. Some people, however, claim that students needed to be involved in other activities as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In universities, students expend a lot of time heeding to their studies, and the importance of education has never been in doubt. But, some people argue that students should also focus on extracurricular activities during their college days. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with the former perspective. Firstly, the purpose of attending universities is to enhance and polish one’s knowledge. Hence, students spend a significant amount of time and effort in preparing for lectures, examinations and subsequent academic activities, which pertain to the bookish nature of the subject. Focusing on exams, if you score high and do well, you have a higher chance of getting a good job. Hence, spending time studying is a way to learn skills pertaining to one’s field of study. Secondly, to spend time seeking knowledge also aids a person’s thinking and thought processes. For instance, mathematics is often beneficial to incite a deeper state of thinking in specific individuals, just like psychology facilitates introspection. It is a notable step towards self-actualisation, something that almost every human being tries to fulfil. However, extracurricular activities are also deemed an excellent way to acquire skills resulting in success in life. For instance, sports is a great way to imbibe discipline and a healthy lifestyle. But, concentrating more on studies in the university is indeed essential because one carries through their purpose of attaining knowledge. To sum up, it is crucial to acknowledge the importance of extracurricular activities in one’s life. However, during the college and university years, a student must devote a significant amount of time towards his studies.