In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both sides and express your opinion.

It is considered by some that high salaries make benefits for a country whereas other people think that salaries should be controlled and limited by the government. In my opinion, I believe that achieving balance is key and there should be neither excessively regulated nor inadequately monitored salaries. On the one hand, many think it is advantageous and worthwhile for the country to have some citizens who are able to make a significant amount of money. In this instance, the economy becomes more attractive to business and investors, because they are interested in operating in an efficient market, which means that the majority of employees are highly motivated both to innovate and, correspondingly, generate more money which also benefits the nation. On the other hand, some people support the opinion that salaries should be regulated by the government, as this will reduce the number of people who earn significantly more money (than who?). It is considered by many that this measure could stabilise the economy by reducing social inequality and inflation. Finally, in my opinion, whether to reduce salaries or leave them unregulated, depends on the current state of the economy. And, in most situations, balance makes perfect. It is preferable to combine strategies, as, for instance, Singapore is doing. In there, if an industry cannot pay high salaries, there are government requirements for it to pay a minimum ones, while other industries are regulated by the market. In conclusion, the regulation of salaries is a debatable issue for all countries. However, each case can be resolved individually by balancing.