The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern epoch, with increasing the population demand of oil and gas also increasing around the world. Some believe that people encourage the exploitation of untouched places. This trend has more drawbacks than benefits; this essay discusses it briefly for the following reasons. To begin with, there are some benefits of exploration of fossil fuels in remote areas. One of the main advantages is that it generates several revenues to the individuals who live in the same location. This means it can create plenty of jobs and business opportunities. For example, it stimulates economic growth, reduce the poverty and living standards to the population. Another benefit is that these kinds of untouched places may have the better road facilities and access to the water and power connections when mining activities are started for getting oil and gas. Despite these benefits, this trend has some drawbacks. One of the adverse effects of exploiting fossil fuels is pollution. To explain, the air and land pollution will occur when exploiting to mining activities to get oil and gas through the extreme dusts and use of chemicals. Another disadvantage is that water pollution and waste; this process requires a large volume of water, thus, increasing the shortage of water around the world. For instance, many African nations already face the shortage of water due to mining activities. Needless to say, natural resources are affected by exploiting oils from untouched locations. To conclude, although getting fossil fuels from remote areas brings employment and business chances as well as road facilities, water and power connections are the benefits, water, air and land pollution will occur along with a large volume of water resources being wasted are the drawbacks. However, this trend has more disadvantages outweigh the advantages.