In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems? What measures could be taken to solve them.

In recent decades, the amount of people with obesity has increased. This results in the deteriorating levels of their overall health and fitness. One of the plausible reasons why this happens is because of their lack of physical activities. To overcome this problem, we need a comprehensive approach such as self-motivation and building supportive environments. On the one hand, the development of cars and motorcycles has made people's lives much easier. However, this is one of the reasons why people's physical activity rate is decreasing. Approximately 50 years ago, people need to walk wherever they want to go. Nowadays, people can use a wide variety of transportations and do not have to walk. The last study published by the Jakarta Post shows that walking activities can contribute to shed people's weight. Therefore, cars and motorcycles can be the reason for this situation. On top of that, sometimes we can not find the right place to do some physical activities. A lot of buildings with limited open-space area might be the reason. For this reason, the government should provide more space that supports physical activities such as city parks. Nevertheless, society should know why physical activities are important. Obesity is one of the causes of life-threatening diseases such as acute coronary syndrome. Therefore, people should spread awareness about obesity and physical activities. In conclusion, one of the causes of this situation is people's lack of physical activity. To increase the physical activity rates, we should build more supportive places and spread more awareness. This way we can improve citizen's overall health and fitness.