Nowadays, mobile phones and the internet have become increasingly important in people’s social life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, phones and various options of social apps becomes more and more popular for people using social media. As increasing numbers of individuals are likely to use this way to socialise. In my opinion, it has both positive and negative effects. Using phones could let people contact others whether they live in the same country or not. For example, as an international student comes to Australia to study, Message is a convenient program to communicate with his family. There is no need to pay for international calls and could able to send text, pictures or even videos in a fast period. Besides, he could use facetime to give his parents a call to let them ensure he is very well in another country. In addition, using social apps could know people’s lifestyles. The various social software tended to be a popular trend for youngsters. They like to use Instagram, Facebook or Line app to share their daily life. Then, individuals could conveniently know their friends’ life. However, devices are a convenient way to communicate with others but they also could bring some negative effects. For instance, using electronic devices in long term could harm a student’s physical fitness and mental health, as he video chats with his friend every day and stays up all night. Iris of the eyeballs could be damaged by watching the screen for a long time and the next day’s mental state is could be bad too. In conclusion, with phones being more essential in people’s social life, it brings both advantages and disadvantages. It could be more helpful and convenient to let people contact others or make new friends. Nevertheless, if they are using it in an incorrect way, there is no doubt it would damage communities’ health.