Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are lots of museums imposing fees for entry tickets, while others remain free. This essay thinks that imposing entry tickets could be beneficial because the museum can keep a high maintenance for their site, and this is important since it will highly attract comers and tourists. However, there are also drawbacks, one of them is that poor people or non-employed people such as students cannot afford to see the museums. When a museum has an entrance fee, it is believed that the fee will be allocated to keep the museum maintained. They could easily repair when something is broken, pay the tour guides, and provide many facilities such as free coffee and snacks for the visitors. This is very important because these services could attract newcomers, especially tourists from other countries and therefore, it can boost the country’s income. For instance, the Singapore National Museum has a relatively high tariff for their entrance tickets, and they could provide the best services for their visitors, such as keeping the museum clean and hiring lots of tour guides. On the other hand, with the high price of the entrance ticket, people who have less money cannot afford to go to the museum. This is due to the fact that they still need to provide their basic needs, and instead going to the museum they prefer to buy food. However, this issue could be tackled with the government subsidizing the tickets or even providing free entry for those in need. For example, in Jakarta, there are lots of museums with cheap entry fee and special price for students with the help of the government’s budget. In conclusion, while imposing entrance tariff for museums sometime has drawbacks, since it will limit the poor and students of going there, it will bring many advantages to the museum because it will keep the museum well maintained and clean. Therefore, this essay agrees that the positive impacts outweigh the drawbacks because they can be mitigated in some ways.