Some people think that old building should be destroyed. Others thinks that they should be preserved. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is thought by some that old buildings ought to be destroyed due to their problems, others believe they should be preserved. In my opinion, in the case of weak buildings, it is better to destroy them, whereas when it comes to traditional buildings, nations should take care of them. On the one hand, old buildings have become a controversial issue in many societies because it is dangerous for people to stay inside them. To put it simply, often old buildings have weak foundations, which can threaten people who live there. For example, in some cases, namely heavy rain and earthquakes, some old buildings might collapse. Consequently, old buildings that are derelict should be knocked down. On the other hand, according to some, old buildings that reflect a country's history and culture must be protected. In other words, the governments should maintain them instead of destroying them because these buildings can improve tourism and show their traditions to the world. For instance, in Egypt, there are many old buildings with preservation orders because these buildings are significant in the tourism industry of the country since many tourists from all over the world visit this nation because of its culture. Finally, in my view, when a building is in bad shape, it must be demolished because it can help the nation protect its people from any accidents. Nevertheless, if the buildings reflect the identity of a country, the government should invest more money in them to make sure they last longer so that everyone can learn and discover many new things by visiting these places and generate the economy of the country as well. To sum up, while it is important to destroy old infrastructure for the safety of people, it is also important to maintain some for future prospects.