Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses. Others believe that the local council should allow people to choose different designs for their houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s climate, buildings are being constructed in different styles all around the world which demonstrate their cultures and traditions. There have existed two conflicting views regarding the design of newly built houses. While it is claimed, that new apartments should be constructed like old ones, many others, myself included, believe people should be allowed to choose their ideal design. Those who argue that the design of new houses should be as like as the old ones to fit the area. The main justification is the fact that in this case, local councilor desires to keep the old image of the neighborhood. This can lead to becoming a tourist attraction for the travelers who come to that place. An illustration of this fact is several cities like London or Veniz where there are many old buildings dating back to the 15th or 16th century, those are registered as national heritages. Therefore, keeping the old style of the neighborhood may result in protecting the historical image of the area. The other side of the argument believes that individuals should decide their home style by themself. They argue that it is a personal decision, as they are paying for the construction, they can decide what to construct, like a personal car which you can use or destroy. Besides that, the universe is making progress and by utilizing new technology more efficient and modern houses can be built. The people who live in old houses suffer from cold and hot weather, while in newly built houses they implement a modern air conditioner which makes the atmosphere suitable for human habitation. What can be concluded from the above is the fact that it is more reasonable to build a structure by the manner of its owner rather than the local council.