Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel, or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

In the intelligent world, we have a lot of professions and specialties, so people started to have concerns about their future, what they would like to do. So I wonder if it's great or bad idea, that young people decide to have some additional year before continuing studying and going to university, for visiting another coutries or gaining some expirience? I have two points of view. On the one hand, young people could give a good go to a lot of different things before deciding what they really like, and then be responsible for their choice. For instance, I didn't have this gap year, and now I see how it was essential to me to have one, because I chose specialty which is not interesting for me from my first course. Moreover, I used someone's place at this university, maybe some person was interested in my thopic topics more that me, and could be a great chemical engineer now. So, as for me, it's important to have the gap year, just to have some time to think, to gain some expirience, and be responsible for your choise in the future. On the other hand, there is a chance that if person will have this additional year, they would not get back to studying at all. For example, I have a friend of mine, she had a gap year in her life and for now, she still didn't make choice about her job or future specialty. As a result, she is not working, just living on money of her parents. All in all, it's still important to have motivation and desire to choose the profession for the furure during this year, not only to have fun. In conclusion, I would like to say that it's a great idea to have some additional time before university for exploring yourself, however, it's also important to use this time for making the choice for you future.