Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people say that different nations are becoming very similar due to people can purchase the same goods anywhere in the world, no matter where they live. I think this is true and it can be a positive feature of globalization. There are some negative aspects too, but overall, the benefits surpass the drawbacks. The main positive point is access to standard products which have, in general, more quality and low price, once these products are sold on the whole planet, providing scale gains. For example, Coca-Cola tastes the same and costs equal relative price in several countries and the consumers know exactly what they expect from this product. Moreover, there are more options for the customers choosing. Another advantage is more competition that encourage local companies to offer better products and more affordable prices. On the other hand, there are some negative aspects such as loss of cultural identity and unfair competition. If the public prefers international goods to local goods, in middle term, traditional products can disappear and some cultural features can disappear together. For instance, in Brazil, it is more common for young people to eat Japanese food or pizza than regional food. Within some years, nobody will eat local dishes like feijoada. Additionally, standard goods can be contributed to unfair competition, killing small businesses. Nowadays, in Brazil, it is more difficult to find local brands of soda as " tubainas " because of multinational brands like Coca-Cola and Pepsi To conclude, in the modern world, the countries are very similar, especially in the big cities, where there are available products from anywhere in the world, mainly from China.