Nowadays, people always throw the old things away when they buy new things; whereas in the past, old things were repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effects the phenomenon leads to?

In light of the rapid pace of change in various factors of the modern era, it has a significant impact on human behaviour. Among them is the behaviour of purchasing goods, when they buy new things they will throw away the old one rather than repairing or using it again as it happened in the past. The main reason is related to the recent economic growth, and lately there are many options available to choose our daily needs. For instance, we can easily find a lot of clothing stores in the street without having to go to the mall first, and sometimes they provide the cheaper one. Furthermore, nowadays, not everyone possesses the acknowledgement of maintaining a certain thing with particular material. Such as, to make a leather bag has good durability, it has to be stored at a certain temperature. For some people this can be quite inconvenient, therefore, they prefer to immediately seek out something new when it is broken. However, this phenomenon may bring several negative impacts on society. Firstly, the latest generation tends to undervalue the meaning of a certain item. This leads to a tendency for having instance behaviour, because the market provides tons of alternatives. Furthermore, the consumptive lifestyle will be increasing because of this phenomenon. In the research of psychology it is called an impulsive buying that will weaken the ability of making a decision. In conclusion, economic growth can enhance an individual’s purchasing power. On the other hand, this phenomenon has a bad psychological effect such as a consumptive lifestyle and impulsiveness that will decrease the sense of considering something.