Some people believe that the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other private vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion asserting that increasing the price of fuels is helpful for air pollution, and accordingly the environmental issues are solved. Although I agree that it is important to use fewer private vehicles, I do not think that it is ample reason for addressing so-called problems. To begin with, the compelling reason for this assertion is that these days, most people all over the world use their private cars more than any other time, and it has an ill effect on the air. If they face a high cost of this kind of energy, in order to enormously of them not afford it, they will highly likely use other transferring vehicles such as buses, subways and metros. That is to say, the more price of energy the less using private cars. A good illustration of this is Iran since the cost of energy has changed the more people use public transportation. Thus, when the amount of air pollution declines the most useful means is for the environment. On the other hand, firstly, this type of energy is not only used for private vehicles but also it is the main source for factors and other activities such as warming systems. To put it differently, private cars are not the only and the most significant factors for threatening the environment. Secondly, there are other root causes which have dire consequences on the destruction of the environment. Take the extinction of some species as an example; by doing so, a serious danger threaten our planet due to changing the ecosystem. Hence, regardless of advantages that raising the cost of fuel have, it is not the only way to overcome environmental problems. To conclude, there are clear benefits of employing public transportation instead of our own cars; however, I do not believe doing it can be the best means to solving environmental issues. This is because fossil fuels are used in private vehicles are not the only cause of these problems.