An increasing number of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

There is no doubt that these days a large number of students are interested in pursuing their education in foreign countries. This approach, however, not only enriches students ' knowledge and skills but also makes a significant contribution to improving the country's socio-economic development over the years. There are a variety of advantages to having an academic degree from a foreign educational institution. First, the scholar who has migrated abroad is able to gain modern knowledge, which will help them compete with others in their professional career. For example, in Bangladesh, a candidate who has a degree from a reputed educational institution abroad is able to get preferential treatment in the job interview. Secondly, since students are allowed to do part-time or full-time jobs in foreign countries, they can easily send remittances to their respective countries, which is really helpful in bolstering economic development. Finally, through this approach, a student is able to learn about multicultural activities as they are used to sharing a room with scholars from different countries. Despite the tempting benefits of choosing to study abroad, there are a lot of demerits. One possible con is the cultural shock, where some students are not able to cope with the changing environment in terms of communication skills, modern lifestyle, and local rules and regulations. Besides, most of the pupils are grappling with the future after having a degree from abroad, as sometimes they face miserable situations while they are applying for permanent residence in the same country. For instance, in a recent survey, it was found that a majority of students are struggling to apply for permanent residences as they are unable to meet the minimum point requirement. In conclusion, although studying abroad has some drawbacks, the advantage is much more than that. As first-world countries provide a standard education with a modern and secure lifestyle, students are moving abroad after some struggle there too.