In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It is undeniable that certain individuals go the extra mile at work or at educational centres. For the students, sacrificing their sleeping time and studying hard means they will manage to access almost any university or degree they desire later in life. In the case of the workers, most of them assume that by doing it, they will obtain better positions within companies. In my opinion, doing the best job you can is always beneficial, for both yourself and others, as it inspires the rest of the people to follow your path and it can give you academic and economic benefits. Firstly, students who perform excellently during their high school years are able to enrol in almost any speciality they want, and if they continue exceeding the expectations by working diligently, a wide range of working opportunities will be waiting for them when qualifying. Secondly, similar situations happen in professional environments as the best employees will get rewarded with salary raises, work promotions and public recognition, hence the reason why they increase their efforts on a daily basis. Working really hard can be a difficult task to perform especially when tired or after completing many exams in the case of students. But I do believe that in the long term it will always be positive as hard-working people are role models for the rest and that is a virtue corporations tend to appreciate. For instance, companies such as Facebook undertake yearly reviews of their employees’ performances and if the results have been above the objectives settled for that period, they award their workers with bonuses that can be up to twenty thousand pounds. In conclusion, hard-working people can lead more prosperous lives than the lazy. The majority of enterprises and educational institutions will reward with better working conditions, academic opportunities or economic compensation to those who perform better. Considering all the reasons exposed above, I think it is a clever idea to do the effort and work to the best of our ability in order to have a more favorable future.