Nowadays many people have easy access to computers and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games? What can be done to minimize the bad effects?

In this day and age, a vast number of children who have computers at home enjoy playing video games on a daily basis. Some experts have mentioned that his activity could cause certain negative consequences, including a reduction in the time spent with the family and in the development of social skills in the young ones. In order to avoid these problems, families should reach agreements regarding the frequency and amount of time that can be dedicated to play games as well as determining which days are better to do so. In this essay, I will discuss in more depth the possible negative impacts and provide some tools on how to prevent this from occurring. First and foremost, while playing video games can help to improve certain skills such as orientation, problem solving or logical thinking, it has also shown a reduction in the time children spend with their relatives. Many of those youngs or teenagers are spending more time in solitude, without developing appropiate social skills or bonds with their closest circle. As a result, many hospitals have seen a rise at anxiety attacks and feelings of emptiness in this population that could be attributed to a lack of socialising. Secondly, despite some negative consequences of spending too much time playing, there are simple solutions that could impact positively at the households. In particular, parents could establish a maximum of 5 hours per week to play games and only during the weekend. Besides, implementing group activities such as cooperative board games and physical activities outdoors could benefit the whole family. Therefore, isolation in children could be reduced and families’ happiness could rise as well. In conclusion, parents should indeed make an effort to spend more time with their children, educating them and developing strong connexions, hence video games should only be played a few times a week in a designated time frame so a balance between family time and personal time can be achieved.