These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Teaching used to be one of the most prestigious jobs in many countries in the past. However, nowadays, it has become less attractive which means not many young people aspire to become teachers. In my view, there are several factors leading to this phenomena and I will discuss some of them in the following paragraphs along with suggesting some solutions. We should consider several reasons why today's youngsters do not want to choose a teaching career. Firstly, a low salary is a major deterrent for many young people. Instead, they look for another profession which offers a higher pay as well as perks. Furthermore, ill- behaved students can cause stress in teachers and makes this job quite exhausting and stressful. Another reason is extremely heavy workload that school teachers have to deal with in their daily lives, being usually snowed under with paperwork and other responsibilities, which means they do not have enough time and energy to spend with their families. As a result, in many countries, including the UK, teachers organize strikes, with some even quitting to get another job. On the other hand, governments can take several measures to alleviate this problem. First of all, teachers should be offered a reasonable pay compared to other professions with similar responsibilities. Because, there are many people who work in different fields such as in banks or other sectors who receive higher renumeration. Another solution would be making parents fully responsible for their children's behavior. School should provide knowledge and education instead of focusing on the upbringing of students. A solution for the third problem is to reduce the amount of work pressure from teachers by hiring more assistants. This will help teachers cut the burden of the job and make this profession less stressful. In conclusion, education plays a vital role in every society's development. Therefore, governments should take necessary steps in dealing with issues in education, including teaching by offering higher salaries, reducing workload and so on.