some say that increasing price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pu0llution problems. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

High prevalence of using motorized vehicles results in heavy traffic, and air and noise pollution in city centers, hence some people offer to increase oil price to reduce the high demand for operating motorized vehicles. Since this process may result in unexpected troubles in suburban areas, and may put a pressure on the budgets of people, I disagree with this idea. One of the reason why increasing oil price should not be embraced as an effective solution is this approach may adversely affect individuals, who reside in suburban areas. To illustrate, some people prefer to live in far away from the city centers, in order to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city life. As a result, they have to drive or take a bus for their daily commute. It can be easily stated that in case of an incline in the oil price, these people's expenditures rise dramatically. Moreover, some of them may decide to quit with the aim of saving money. For instance, nearly 40 people resigned last month in Istanbul due to fact that expenses related to everyday commute almost doubled in the last two months. To sum up, rising oil price may alleviate the traffic jam as people tend to quit to drive, but this approach may end up in unemployment, for that reason, I do not support this idea. On the other hand, increasing price oil leads to rise transportation fees, in turn, every items' price on shelves is likely to go up. To examplify, as companies have to pay more for fuel for lorries, they tend to increase the price of the products, in order to make profit. As a consequence, customers may face overprized items in supermarkets. For example, the price of cartoon milks has been increasing significantly in recent years, owing to war between Russia and Ukraine. If authoritites rise the oil price in order to reduce the pollution or traffic, the pressure on citizen's budget, inevitably, peaks. Therefore, governments should not impelement policies for increasing oil price. To conclude, while some believe that increasing petrol price would be be most effective way to address heavy traffic and pollution, I personally do not support this idea since this approach may result in more serious situations including unemployment, and financial strain among society.