DO YOU THINK THE SIGNIFICANCE OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE AS AN INTERNATIONAL LANGUAGE WILL BE LOST WITH GLOBALISATION OR ITS SIGNIFICANCE WILL INCREASE WITH GLOBALISATION? WHAT IS YOUR OPINION?

English as a Lingua Franca, also known as a common language or mode of communication among the global.In this essay, I will discuss both views on whether the significance of the English language will be lost or increased with the globalisation and provide my own opinion. To begin with,the English language is marked as a bridge language among people for communication, business and education purposes, which suggests its significance is likely to increase with the globalisation. Thus, the technologies and internet require English as a principal language in the digital age. Moreover, multinational companies frequently use English as their working language to do global business and trade. For example, many foreign workers will face difficulties to understanding and sharing their ideas with the workers because of the language barrier. Therefore, the role of the English in the global markets is significant and is being used as a strategy for partnership and marketing. On the other hand, the potential geopolitical shift and language preservation could influence the status of the English, such as the rise of China and the Chinese language that will surely make a negative impact on the English language. For instance, the locals still preserve local language as their mother tongue and keep the heritage of their cultures. As a result, where the English is not the primary language any longer. In conclusion, I believe that the significance of an English language as an international language will definitely increase in the future times because it makes communication a lot easier and understanding one another has become efficient.