More and more students are taking a year off between finishing high school and going to university. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more students are choosing to take a year off before going to university when they finished their high school. This essay will explain why the benefits of taking year off overshadow the drawbacks. On the one hand, taking a year off after finishing high school could pose two challenges to students. Firstly, it might distract them from their initial goals. Some students might use their break time for exploring various things such as travelling and working. Thus, it might lead them to focus on a job instead of come back to pursue their academic life in the university. Moreover, taking a year off might not be a good choice for some people because they might feel left behind by their friends. This is due to the fact that most of students entered university directly after they finished their high school. On the other hand, despite these drawbacks, I would argue there are more benefits to this trend. Firstly, it enables student to choose what they want. Academics are naturally draining for some students because they have to learn monotonous subjects that were chosen for them. For instance, some students might not interest in biology but they have to learn it because of the curriculum. However, if they have time to take a gap year, they will have more time to explore other subjects. Furthermore, students will have a high self-consciousness and self-esteem because they already know their self. Hence, they will make better decision about the major that they will pursue in the university. In conclusion, while taking a gap year could possibly cause distraction to some students, they have a chance to spend more time to explore other subjects. Therefore, I am fully convinced that demerits are eclipsed by the merits.