People do not read newspapers anymore. Do you think its a positive or negative trend?

It is clear that people nowadays do not read newspapers anymore in this modern technology era.In my perspective, the upsides of this phenomenon far outweigh its downsides.In this essay, I will discuss the topic in detail with relevant pieces of information in the following paragraphs. To begin with, in this new digital era, most of the population owns a Smartphone, and as a result, instant and unlimited access news through online anywhere and anytime. For example, an individual can easily access on the latest news without going out to buy a newspaper everyday. In addition,online news is far more convenient to everyone and cost-effective. Nevertheless, a Smartphone is smaller and easy to carry around compared to a newspapers. On the other hand,a newspaper is made up of trees. In other words, deforestation is needed to produce a newspaper. For example, the factory needs a large amount of wood materials to manufacture newspapers daily, therefore, deforestation happens all across the world,and as a consequence, a negative impact to the habitats because they loss their home to live and ended extinction. Although newspapers always share factual news with the public compared to online news sometimes fake news and misinformation may occur among the citizens and may lead to conflict. In conclusion, this trend might bring some demerits but I believe the benefits are more considerable. Moreover, the government has the power to control a whole country,so it is necessary to make sure that journalism only publishes true news to the public and encourages them to access news online. Thus, deforestation will also being reduced.