In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think maybe the reasons for this? What problems it might cause in society?

It is true that an increasing number of youngsters today do not have a sense of respect for their elders. There could be several reasons for this, and this trend may create many other issues in society. To commence with, this trend of disrespect may be caused by different factors. Firstly, the modern lifestyle has a deep impact on youngsters. In the past, mostly people preferred to live in joint families with older people and they learned moral values such as respect, loyalty, and honesty from elders; whereas nowadays, most individuals choose to stay alone and far away from their elders and moral values. Secondly, the modern generation is also influenced by the western culture. Being independent as per the people of Western countries do not want to rely on their elders, so they might think that they do not need to respect their elders anymore. However, there are several problems it may cause in society. One of the most important impacts is the generation gap that can widen due to misunderstandings among them. After that elders may feel neglected or undervalued in society which can further lead to an increment in the cases of depression and loneliness. In addition, people who are moving away from their elders may experience physical and emotional distance in both generations. It may also reduce the quality of life for older citizens as they do not have adequate care and support from the youngsters. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that sufficient respect for older may help elders to live their lives more happily and stress-free and reduce the difference between both generations.