The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

Whilst senior employees have a lot of professional experience and knowledge, it is challenging for them to compete with a younger generation. This essay will discuss the problems they face and possible solutions to improve the situation. One of the main issues between older and younger people is communication at work. Since they have a significant difference in ability to learn and adapt to a fast-changing environment, sometimes they fail to speak the same language. For example, It is much more frustrating for seniors to go through a change management process, when the organization's IT systems are being replaced. On the other hand, the newcomers are full of innovation and embrace progress. This results in a feeling of anxiety and may lead to even a burnout, when highly skilled employees understand that they can't cope with the pace of digital transformation. In addition, the possibility of being laid off due to automation or restructuring is higher for employees whose jobs are becoming irrelevant. Since in many cases, those legacy tasks are performed by elderly workers, their financial stability is at risk in this scenario. On the other side, professionals with over 20 years of experience in the organization, possess the organization's memory and knowledge, therefore they provide a great benefit for the employer. As one of the opportunities for seniors to remain occupied even if their position is becoming redundant is to take a consulting role. This allows them to be independent, keep the income and still contribute to the company. Furthermore, the government may take part in sponsoring the occupation of skilled ageing citizens in socially valuable jobs. To conclude, elderly people have challenges to keep being occupied in the fast-changing world. However, their skills and knowledge are essential for the economy, and both private firms and the government should make efforts to keep them employed.