There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

There is an existing paradigm in the society that one of marriage's purposes is having children. Nowadays, however, a growing number of married couples around the world chooses not to have children. The decision certainly has its benefits and drawbacks which I will discuss in this essay. In terms of the benefits, first of all, having children can contribute to preserve the generation of a family and support the sustainability of a nation. When new babies are born, they will continue the genes of their family, thus the generation will keep growing and expanding. This can prevent a familly tree from an extinction, like what happened to some races or tribes in certain regions. Second, new population in a country is obviously important to a nation's development. As older workers reach their retirement age, it is expected that their young generation will take turn their positions. If many women in a country are hesitate to give births, the area will lack its human sources in the future. Regarding the disadvantages, freedom and financial aspects are significant for married couples in deciding not having kids. For example, some women feel that being pregnant and having babies will impede them to achieve their careers. Or, some other couples love to travel and do adventures, in which they can not always take their children with them. Another drawback is a family containing a lot of members requires big budgets to fulfil daily needs, like food and clothes. Not only that, parents should save a lot of money for their education and health. In conclusion, having children not only brings positive consequences, but also has opposite impacts. Thus, there are valid reasons to have or not to have babies for married couples.