Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read only serious educational books. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some adults believe that children should read books, but only the ones that teach them serious lessons and morals of life because otherwise - it’s a waste of time. Meanwhile the kids enjoy reading simple books for fun more. In this essay I will discuss both views and state my opinion. One of pros of the reading, is that every genre of writing is useful for our imagination. It doesn’t matter what kind of book we are reading, because when we are reading any type of literature we make up a view in our mind. This makes our brain work on trying to create a proper picture and this leads to the improvement of our imagination. Another reason why reading is not a waste of time is because reading trains us to read faster and improve our language skills. For example, if students at school have a test which includes open questions or reading of some kind of text, they will need their reading skills. If a person is not used to reading they won’t be able to understand the text properly and might interpret it in their own way which could lead to misunderstandings or bad grades. One of the cons of reading unserious literature is that if a person has very limited free time in their daily life, they might need to use it on doing something useful instead of reading books that are not classical. Easy books keep us entertained but the knowledge we gain from them is often lower than the one we would gain from books like Shakespeare’s “Romeo and Juliet”. This provides us only with entertainment instead of further progress. Another con is that some books are quite expensive so spending money on less educational literature might do us no good. Of course people should buy and read books they enjoy but if these books don’t contain a strong value this could end up as a waste of your money and time (especially if you don’t like the book after finishing it). To conclude, all kinds of literature help us improve our language and general knowledge so I believe that even regular children’s books can teach a lot.