Around the world, fewer languages are being spoken, and just a few are becoming more common. Is this a positive or negative development?

One argument under debate concerns the issue of whether the decline of languages pratically spoken yields beneficial effcts on society as a whole. Even though some negative impacts are suggested by many, this argument will contend that this phenomenon is expected to result in immeasurably beneficial outcomes. Admittedly, the possibility of learning about cultural diversity can abate as more and more languages are forgotten. With the perspective that lanugages language each reflect on distinct characteristics of cultures, historians tend to envision the general concepts of diverse cultures by means of languages. For example, once very unique languages, including certain types of rarely spoken, regional dialects in South Korea, by no means survive, historians cannot refer to such minor descriptions as detailed illustrations of lifestyles of the lay people in old days. In order to research detailed cultures of such dismissed places, the spoken languages are the only vehicle for illustrating each of cultures. This exemplifies one of the worrisome aspects of the phenomenon of dissipating languages. Nonetheless, the trend of uniting a plethora of languages brings a couple of benefits. First and foremost, more people are able to interact with one another without affording high costs of distinct languages. Until recently, countless numbers languages served as barriers, making people in international society have difficulties in communicating. As clearly seen in the case of English, the language that has become one of the most globally used languages, people coming from disparate cultures can share ideas, facilitaing the process of worldwide society more efficiently without paying additional costs for various translations. Furthermore, as diverse languages are united into an identical communication vehicle, a handful of problems that do not burst upon in certain nations steer international soceity into more consturctive one. For instance, in South Korea, since 2020 the idea of animalism has been introduced through the articles written by English. That was a novel concept for Korean people, developing South Korea into more mature society. In conclusion, the decrease of languages can pose a challenge on ways to study a variety of cultures. However, it is more imperative to acknowledge that the phenomenon of converging into single language offers helpful outcomes in terms of economic and cultural aspets assets, outweighing the disadvantages.