People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

Many people argue that one solution to environmental problems would be for governments to raise the price of petrol. While i consider this might be an effective measure, I would argue that there might be other measures with greater impact. If national authorities raised taxes on petrol, this would lead to two environmental issues. Firstly, in terms of private cars, many commuters will have to consider how much they going to spend on their journey to compensate for the extra expense. For instance, governments are required to enhance the city's public transportation, serving many people who choose mass transit instead of their private transport to reduce emissions and give more space for the roads. Secondly, the measures about freight services, many goods will be transported by rail rather than truck, this ideal would bring back a lot of efforts for the city environment and also reduce the greenhouse effect. On the other hand, this could also be a stopgap measure, people who visit the city centre will need to pay congestion charges in terms of reducing traffic jams. For example, London has some policies about travellers from everywhere needing to pay some taxes to come in. Another policy is that fares by bus will be reduced to encourage people to use mass transit in order to protect our environmental health and the earth. In conclusion, the rise of petrol taxes would be useful for environmental-friendly transport measures, although in the longer term, other steps would be more effective.