Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that our high school education system not only focuses on science but also arts. While some groups believe that studying literature is not as important as other subjects, I totally disagree with this statement since there are several benefits from studying literature. One justification for this is that by learning how to create written matter, their self-confidence will develop, as they are trained to deliver their ideas to public. Although not every pupil has an interest in writing, this skill can easily be learned by reading various types of books; hence, they will have basic knowledge and skills about how to write a good article, for instance. Another case to illustrate this is after they publish their works, they will receive both praise and advice, so that they will feel empowered and appreciated. Furthermore, it is obvious that this skill is part of self-development. Secondly, I believe that literature curriculums provide enhancement for students critical thinking. For instance, in 10 grade, they are required to read articles about ancient wars likewise World War II, and give their thoughts in the form of an essay afterwards. As a result, this will not only affect their knowledge about World War II but also how to elaborate their arguments in a positive way. However, this can increase students’ ability to make decisions and to become high-quality individuals. In conclusion, it is paramount to give literature education in order to support students’ self-confidence and critical skills. Therefore, I am firmly convinced that this subject is not a waste of time.