Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is common to believe that endeavoring to prevent the extinction of rare species is useless and recklessly wasteful. However, I hold the view that all and sundry should do their best to preserve every single existing wild creature. First and foremost, biodiversity is vital for a healthy and functional ecosystem. Savage animals serve as a critical food source for billions of people around the world, since they are rich in proteins and minerals. In addition to that, undomesticated organisms are a great source of ecotourism, attracting international visitors. As a consequence, the influx of tourists helps boost local economies by providing jobs, such as guiding and hotel services. That is why extracting wildlife from its natural habitat inevitably leads to disastrous results. When a single species becomes extinct, the whole food chain is disrupted, affecting plants and people as well. For instance, if carnivores disappeared, the number of herbivorous animals would rise tremendously, having a negative impact on both flora and humans. In spite of this, there is a great number of individuals who think there is no need to rescue vulnerable fauna, due to the fact that such an activity is not economically viable. Some are of the opinion that extinction is a natural process which has occurred repeatedly throughout Earth's history, whereas others point out that the money invested in saving threatened types of animals species could be used for other environmental initiatives that yield greater benefits or have a more immediate impact, including habitat restoration or combating climate change. For example, critics of species conservation suggest that spending millions of dollars to protect a single type of frog when there are pressing human needs, namely access to clean water or healthcare in impoverished communities, seems disproportionate and inefficient. In conclusion, while there are valid arguments against investing resources for the preservation of vulnerable species, I firmly believe that it is our moral and ethical responsibility to protect the biological variety of our planet.