Robots are popular these days. What are the advantages and disadvantages of robots?

More and more companies use robots instead of manual labour nowadays. Work automation makes production more efficient and faster, because robots can perform routine work more efficiently at high speed and without rest. However, automated processes in factories are dangerous and increase unemployment. The first obvious advantage of robots is that they do not have human weaknesses such as emotions, illness or tiredness. At the same time, the machines are programmed to repeat the same steps required for the production process, so they can produce standard products of ideal quality. Moreover, robots only require occasional repairs and a few engineers to supervise so that they can work day and night, producing goods much faster than humans. On the other hand, humans cannot compete with robots in routine tasks that require strength and endurance. For this reason, factories use more automation instead of human labour, which leads to unemployment. People who lose their jobs due to robots may remain unemployed for years owing to the difficulty of learning and acquiring a new profession. Robots can be dangerous to people if they work in the same place, which is a serious disadvantage of an automated process. Unfortunately, all software used for robots contains some errors, and the machine can cause serious or even fatal injuries to people if it confuses them with an object. To sum up, the usage of robots helps make production faster and more efficient, but is dangerous to human health and leads to job loss. Automation should be implemented slowly, with appropriate testing of its safety and gradual replacement of manual labour.