The use of gasoline-powered vehicles contributes significantly to air pollution and climate change. Some argue that governments should impose higher taxes on gasoline to discourage its usage and promote alternative transportation methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this proposal? Discuss the environmental and economic implications of reducing gasoline consumption.

Climate change is the main culprit of a series of catastrophes such as droughts, severe rainfalls, unbearable heatwaves and agricultural problems that are becoming chronic. One of the reasons behind these issues is the combustion of gasoline or similar components which emits carbon dioxide to the atmosphere, raising its temperature. Petrol is mainly used to run private cars, taxis and vans. While I do believe raising taxes in all oil derived products is a must, other options must be provided to the population. In this essay I will analyse the possible implications of cutting down gasoline. During the last decade, many environmentalists have been warning governments that if continuing extracting and burning oil, we were to experience serious threats to our health and well-being. Many years have passed by, and those voices who were ignored have finally been taken into consideration. I have the opinion that forbidding the usage of petrol will be one of the main objectives of this century. To achieve it, other measures will have to take place first such as increasing oil prices, limiting its extraction, investing in eco-friendly energies and subsidising public means of transport. Therefore, many benefits will arise after decreasing gasoline usage. The environmental conditions should either remain stable or even improve if we do not continue to damage it by rising its temperature more. The quality of the air, especially in the citys city, should increase. Improving chronic respiratory illnesses such as COPD or asthma. In terms of economy, if governments adapt and find way to create renewable energies, no constriction in economical growth should be seen. In conclusion, lawmakers should consider establishing harsher restrictions on the usage of gasoline and its derived products. Diligent work will be needed in order to avoid further damage to our environment, while researchers and engineers have the key to continue developing new energies that will be respectful with our health and the rest of the world.