Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Some people have several reasons for watching foreign films rather than locally produced ones. This essay will explain about the reasons why some people choose foreign films and the governments regulation to support local film production, especially about finance. Nowadays, the globalization has impact to entertainment platforms, such as streaming technology and foreign film exhibitions. Consequently, the film has more accessible and cheaper. For instance, In Indonesia, young people prefer to watch movie streaming in their home rather than going to cinema because it is easier because they can change the subtitle of foreign film and sounds. For other reasons, some other people prefer to visit in foreign film exhibitions that are interesting view when they try and watch the trailer in the exhibition. On the other hand, governments which support local film is not essential. From my prospective, it depends on film genres, when governments give more money to all producers, it can be more expensive. So, government should be more selective to give funding for local film. For example, the government which has a film maker competition is a winner who can get funding to release their film. I believe, when the government has more selective to give funding, the quality of film has been increased and some people will watch the local movies. In conclusion, foreign films are more fascinating and cheaper because it is impacted by globalization. So, the government should be aware of local movie qualities because it can be supporting funding for producing films.