Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and giver your own opinion.

There are various ways to promote a product, one of which is advertising. While some people think that advertising is highly effective to persuade customers, I stand with those who feel that this method is less effective. Advertisement can be created in several media, such as television (TV), radio, and street banner, which may attract large group of people. Research in psychology founds that the more people see something, the more they like it. Advertising may be interesting for certain customers, especially if it has a great narrative. However, personalization aspect is missing from this type of marketing activity. For instance, a telecommunication company uses TV advertisement to promote its fiber broadband product which have multiple specifications. Though this create awareness of what this company offers, for some people, this may not be appealing as it is unclear which product specification will be the most suitable for them. On the other hand, there are many available channels with better effectiveness than advertisement, such as email and sales force. For example, a company may hire salesperson and ask them to offer products tailored to the customers' background or behavior. This approach is more personalized and may create better attachment with customers, thus encourage them to make purchases. Besides these paid channels, companies may also benefitted from existing customers ' reviews. A research suggests that one of the most crucial factors in buying decision is customer reviews. Therefore, excellent opinion from existing customers contribute significantly in persuading other people to buy a product. In conclusion, advertising may be successful at persuading people, but not as impactful as other available channels. I believe that if a company wants to attract people to buy their products, they should use a personalized approach and maintain excellent reviews so that people will be more convinced to make their purchases.