The health benefits tof physical excercise are well-known. Despite this, a lot of people do not exercise regularly. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to encourage them to excercise more often?

Most people understand the importance of being physically active, yet many still lead a mainly sedentary lifestyle. This essay will discuss why people avoid exercising and how they could be encouraged to do so more often. The reasons why people do not exercise are plentiful; one of them is a lack of time. For individuals working long hours, finding time to exercise is a challenge. When they eventually have some free time after work or on weekends, many prefer to spend it socialising or simply relaxing. While some people are too busy to exercise, others simply do not enjoy physically exerting themselves. When, in addition to that, there is an expensive gym subscription fee to be paid, it is not surprising that people often choose to spend their free time and money in a more enjoyable way. In my view, three measures may help people keep more active. Firstly, they should be encouraged to take advantage of any type of physical exercise that is available to them, be it a brisk ten-minute walk or taking the stairs instead of a lift. These short periods of activity, which can have noticeable health benefits, can be easily slotted into most people ’s daily routines. Another way to encourage individuals to exercise is to make it more fun. Those who do not like running on the treadmill or using weights at the gym could perhaps find a sport they enjoy, such as swimming or playing basketball. To help with the costs, the government should provide community sports centres where fees can be kept lower than at private gyms. To conclude, people do not exercise for various reasons, including a lack of time, money and desire. Encouraging them to be physically active during the day and offering fun, reasonably priced sports activities can help them become healthier and fitter.