Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary times, the majority are relying on alternative medicine to tackle some health issues rather than taking advice from a doctor. Personally, I tend to believe that leveraging other medical treatments may have a negative impact on the health of the patient, therefore visiting a medical specialist is necessary to recover as quickly as possible. On the one hand, most adults are well aware of their health state, so they may endeavor traditional ways to get well. Due to people knowing about their allergies or how their body reacts to different pills, they are able to take care of themselves. Furthermore, the majority of adults have acquired basic knowledge about medicine from different experiences in life, accordingly, they may effortlessly take essential medicines that are required and useful in an emergency situation. For instance, if an individual has a high temperature above 38-39 degrees, then paracetamol will assist in dropping it. According to a recent report of UNICEF, approximately 64% of people have paracetamol at home. Conversely, people may take painkillers or some medicals in not an appropriate dose, consequently, they will face some detrimental health challenges. Some adults may not be able to distinguish different medical treatments, for example, to stop a cough they may take in painkillers instead of necessary medicines. Moreover, not appropriate medical treatment may cause other harmful diseases. For example, every third person who overuses painkillers faces stomach and liver problems. To sum up, in modern days, people prefer to recover by themselves at home, however, they are not aware of the fact that it can have negative consequences, and visiting a health professional is better and has a positive impact.