New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Technologies have been ever-changing in the 21st century, and children use new technologies in their leisure time more often than in the past. I believe that the disadvantages outwigh the advantages in this situation. Relaxing and getting excitement can exemplify the advantages of this change. Children treat using new technologies, such as metaverse and video games, as their sources of relaxation. After a whole day of lessons and finishing homework, they can finally relax their minds from academics when they are immersed in a virtual world. Other than that, getting excitement from victory using those technologies compensates their failure experienced in their real life. In order to get people interested, if not addicted to their games, game designers utilise psychological concepts to provide sweet tokens of winning, and players spend more time to challenge themselves with those technologies. To sum up, children relieving their pressure and feeling excited are merits of using new technologies in their spare time. Unfortunately, the demerits are detrimental. Over-reliance on electronic devices and having worse physical and mental health are some disadvantages. As children are hooked on the feeling of relaxation and excitement, they cling to use the new technologies and would not let go. However, they neglect the negative influence of gradually being less resilient. It may be difficult for children to accept their real-life limitations, and their problem-solving ability will be lowered because they are used to being successful in their simulated world. Furthermore, children would actually end up having worse physical and mental health. When the rare free time finally arrives and they are still sticking to their devices, they would not end up feeling relaxed, but more tired because of the bluelight. They will get so stimulated that it is hard to go to sleep. Also, research suggests that children using too many technologies have shorter attention spans compared to their counterparts. They may need extra effort in order to reverse the situation. In short, the demerits of relying too much on new technologies and having poor physical and mental health outweigh the advantages identified. To conclude, I believe that the disadvantages of children incorporating new technologies in their free time outweigh the advantages. The long-term health of children is crucial and should be protected. There are a lot of ways to achieve relaxation and getting excitement and parents and children should spare no efforts in discovering them.