Playing a musical instrument is one of the most important achievements for any child. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In order to reach their maximum potential, children need to engage in a variety of activities. Although learning how to play an instrument might be a great feat in itself, I do not agree that it accounts for the most important accomplishment at their age and this essay will provide reasons for my disagreement. First of all, it is crucial to consider that not all children have an aptitude for music. While one child may enjoy the learning process, another might detest it. Consider an example of two siblings who have opposite interests, but are forced to learn playing an instrument. The success of one of them might make the other feel inferior, which in itself can lead to a problematic relationship dynamic. This is why it is of utmost importance to make children decide whether they want to pursue this skill or not. Furthermore, forcing them into something can have detrimental effects on their mental health. Hence, their talent and time should not be wasted on something that does not align with their interests. For instance, it is often a custom in families to follow the legacy of a successful parent. However, it often gets revealed that the offspring had different interests, and was suffering silently. On the other hand, we cannot turn a blind eye to the fact that learning an instrument at such a young age is a testament to their talent and dedication. However, I think this is just not enough. In conclusion, I believe that any extraordinary achievement of a child is worth an appraisal. It should not be limited to something particular, especially when their heart is not in it.