Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

One’s intelligence can be attributed to several factors. Categorically speaking, it can be either a product of genetics, or the environment one is exposed to. This essay will explain both sides, along with my belief that personal experiences matter more. On the one hand, quite a few people believe that intelligence is solely a result of the genetic make-up of parents. They relate the IQ of the offspring to that of the parents. This can certainly be supported by laws of genetics which exist to prove and predict multiple features of a child. The science behind such theories can be a plausible explanation for this point of view. However, some people do not agree with this and argue that it is actually acquired. The different journeys we go through, the hardships we may or may not face, and the skills possessed by us make all the difference. How often does it happen that we are unable to tackle a problem because it is unfamiliar? As time passes, we gain the wisdom and skill set required to deal with it if it ever arises again. Therefore, these people are not incorrect in saying that intellect is an outcome of the challenges one meets with. Personally, I believe that the factor mostly responsible for smartness is life experiences. It can be partly inherited, but is definitely not the principal determining factor. In light of the discussion above, it can be concluded that both sides have a strong basis for their arguments. Whereas some believe intelligence is mainly inherent, I support that environment is the predominant factor.